top of page
  • Writer's pictureCoastal Therapy

SLP Spotlight


As we celebrate Better Hearing and Speech Month, we want to highlight one of our wonderful SLP’s here at Coastal Pediatric Therapy Center. We’ve put together a fun Q&A interview to help our families and friends get to know Ms. Christy Duke MA, CCC-SLP.


Christy has been a part of Coastal Pediatric Therapy since 2006 and brings over 20 years of experience to our team! She completed her Bachelor of Arts in Communicative Disorders from the University of Alabama prior to obtaining a Master’s degree in Speech-Language Pathology from the University of Memphis. Her diverse experience includes treating children with a variety of diagnoses including Autism, Down’s syndrome, Apraxia, developmental delay, phonological disorders, articulation impairments, and language delays.


Christy holds a strong interest in early speech and language development, specifically in the Pre-Kindergarten and Kindergarten populations. Christy enjoys working with families, teachers, and pediatricians to facilitate a coordinated approach to ensure each child’s success. She is truly committed to providing quality therapy that is fun, motivating, and effective! Personally, Christy loves music, being active, sunshine, and spending time with family and friends.

Christy with her family, Kelly & Russell, Katie and Cheyne, her parents Buddy & Cherye Duke and her nieces Anniston & Vivie.

What is your favorite thing to do when you are not working?


"I enjoy time with family and friends. I also enjoy going to the beach, hiking, cookouts, music and laughter with the ones I love."

Hiking with friends in Sedona, AZ

What is your favorite part of being an SLP?


"My favorite part is being able to work with multiple families. I love being a support system to children and parents, while achieving goals and breaking through communication barriers!"

Christy with her sisters Kelly & Katie

What is one of your best memories of being an SLP?


"After 20+ years, there are too many to pick just one! Being an SLP, my favorite memories are made on a daily basis."

The Coastal team at the Apraxia Walk

What do you enjoy most about working at Coastal Pediatric Therapy Center?


"What's not to love?! I love our families, my co-workers and the fact that our center is only blocks from the beach!"

Christy with Coastal's Founder and Director, Nancy Turner

What are your favorite therapy techniques?


"I really like to implement a combination of play with toys and games. I also include structured tasks, academic standards, books, and music."

Family time on Halloween

What is your favorite part about working with kids?


"My favorite part is watching their accomplishments and learning about each of their unique personalities! They teach me as much as I teach them."


What is the most interesting thing about you that we wouldn't know from your work history or resume alone?


"I'm an avid lover of many types of music!"

Ms. Christy in her Halloween costume at Coastal

When you were a child, what did you want to be when you grew up?


"Honestly just loved being a kid! I didn't talk or think about professional careers until after I graduated high school and transitioned to college."


What color crayon would you be and why?


"That’s easy! Crimson! Roll Tide!"

Christy graduated from the University of Alabama

Who has impacted your life the most and why?


"My parents have impacted my life the most. Their faith, consistent love, guidance, support, wisdom, and friendship never ceases to amaze me!"


0 comments
bottom of page